On Thursday 23 February the City of Port Phillip along with the Cities of Banyule, Moreland, Stonnington and Yarra were awarded the 2017 LGPRO (Local Government Professionals) Awards for Excellence – Sustainability Initiative, for the nomination titled ‘The ESD (Environmentally Sustainable Development) Policy - Planning Reform for a Sustainable Future’.  The award was for the introduction of Local Planning Policy (ESD) into each respective city’s planning scheme.

The award is reflective of a long process that began at the City of Port Phillip informally in 1999 where it was identified that ESD should be introduced at the planning phase to improve the environment outcomes of buildings. The Joint Councils developed the Sustainable Design in the Planning Process (SDAPP) as a voluntary framework that ran parallel to the statutory planning process and recorded improvements with developments that had begun to embrace sustainable design holistically.

The award is recognition of long term collaboration across internal departments including Sustainability and Transport, Strategic and Statutory Planning and externally, with all members of the Joint Councils and consultants involved throughout the process.